A Breath of Mischief (Hardcover)

A Breath of Mischief By MarcyKate Connolly, Yuta Onoda (Illustrator) Cover Image

A Breath of Mischief (Hardcover)

By MarcyKate Connolly, Yuta Onoda (Illustrator)

$16.99


On Our Shelves Now
The Toadstool Bookshop Peterborough
2 on hand, as of May 25 5:46pm
The Toadstool Bookshop Keene
1 on hand, as of May 26 5:11pm

Brimming with danger and magic, this new fantasy adventure from acclaimed author MarcyKate Connolly will leave readers breathless as Aria discovers the strength of her courage—and the power of friendship.

Aria is raised by the Wind. She grew up in a castle, floating among the clouds with creatures of the air. She spends her days racing and soaring through the sky with her best friend, Gwyn, a young gryphling. At night, she falls asleep to the music of the Wind.

One morning, Aria is woken by a frantic Gwyn. The chimes are silent, there is not a breath of breeze, and their castle has settled on the ground. The Wind has vanished.

Aria and Gwyn go on a desperate search only to discover the Wind is being held captive by a sinister alchemist named Worton. To free the Wind, Aria and Gwyn must complete a series of trials to find and retrieve three magical talismans for Worton. 

Nothing will keep Aria from rescuing the element who raised her—not a riddle, not a quest, not a race against time. Except Worton can't be trusted, and it's not just the Wind that needs saving…

MarcyKate Connolly is a New York Times bestselling children’s book author and nonprofit administrator who lives in New England with her family and a grumble of short-nosed dogs. She is the author of the Shadow Weaver series and the Hollow Dolls series, and co-author of The Star Shepherd. You can visit her online at marcykate.com.


Product Details ISBN: 9781728256863
ISBN-10: 1728256860
Publisher: Sourcebooks Young Readers
Publication Date: April 4th, 2023
Pages: 224
Language: English
"Connolly weaves a fantastical journey perfect for fans of WINGS OF FIRE involving the four elements and a plucky heroine who will stop at nothing to protect her home. A fast-paced fable young readers will devour." — Jen Calonita, NYT bestselling author

"A Breath of Mischief breezes in with elemental magic, mythical creatures, and lyrical prose reminiscent of classic fairytales. In this enchanting fantasy adventure, MarcyKate Connolly weaves a whirlwind of a story about Aria, Gwyn, and their quest to rescue the Wind." — Monica Tesler, author of the Bounders series

"A snappy pace and exuberant tone keep the pages turning... high-stakes tension and quirky worldbuilding" — Kirkus Reviews

"A total page-turner and a fresh perspective in the world of fantasy" — Booklist

"For fans of Hayao Miyazaki, this ... elementally anchored adventure quest... couples cloud turrets and terrestrial wonder with a memorable tone and an ecologically aware narrative." — Publishers Weekly