Darkside: A Novel (Planetside #4) (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Darkside: A Novel (Planetside #4) By Michael Mammay Cover Image

Darkside: A Novel (Planetside #4) (Paperback)

$18.99


Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Other Books in Series

This is book number 4 in the Planetside series.

In this thrilling, action-packed fourth installment in the Planetside series from acclaimed science fiction author Michael Mammay, retired Colonel Carl Butler gears up for another military investigation, full of danger, corporate intrigue, and tech people would kill for—perfect for fans of John Scalzi and Craig Alanson. 

Colonel Butler has paid his dues and just wants to enjoy his retirement on a remote planet. But the galaxy has had other plans.  He has been roped into searching for a politician’s missing son and an industry magnate’s missing daughter. He has been kidnapped, violated numerous laws, and caused the destruction of colonial facilities. He’s famous—or infamous, depending on who you ask—praised and reviled in equal measure across the galaxy for his exploits.

And he is determined to never let the government drag him into another investigation.

But when a runaway twelve-year-old girl whose father has gone missing asks him for help, well…it’s a lot harder to say no.

The girl’s father, Jorge Ramiro, was supposed to have been on Taug, a moon orbiting the gas giant Ridia 5, working on a dig with a famous archaeologist. But now there’s no sign of him and no record of him being there. Mining operations on the moon are run by two different consortiums, Caliber and Omicron—both of which have tried to kill Butler in the past. Butler doesn’t believe in coincidence.

Landing on Taug with his right-hand man Mac, computer genius Ganos, and an elite security squad, Butler soon finds that they’ve charged back into the crosshairs—because Ramiro is not the only who has disappeared, and the perpetual darkside of this moon is hiding more than the truth about a missing archeologist…


Michael Mammay is a retired army officer and a graduate of the United States Military Academy. He has a master’s degree in military history and is a veteran of more wars than he cares to remember. He lives with his wife in Georgia. He is the author of the Planetside series, The Misfit Soldier, The Weight of Command, and Generation Ship.


Product Details ISBN: 9780063320130
ISBN-10: 0063320134
Publisher: Harper Voyager
Publication Date: September 24th, 2024
Pages: 352
Language: English
Series: Planetside

“Impressively well-balanced page-turner... propulsive and satisfying.” — New York Times Book Review on Generation Ship

“A tough, authentic-feeling story that starts out fast and accelerates from there.”   — Jack Campbell, New York Times bestselling author of Ascendant, on Planetside

“Taut, highly political SF thriller...Highly recommended.” — Library Journal (starred review) Best SF/Fantasy of 2023 on Generation Ship

“The idea of generation ships is not a new one in SF, but Mammay’s approach and style are unique. Fans of James S. A. Corey’s Expanse series (2011) will enjoy this one.”  — Booklist (starred review)

Planetside is a smart and fast-paced blend of mystery and boots-in-the-dirt military SF that reads like a high-speed collision between Courage Under Fire and Heart of Darkness.”  — Marko Kloos, bestselling author of the Frontline series

Generation Ship is a ferocious story of human desperation, boiling with tension and betrayal.” — Sunyi Dean, author of The Book Eaters