You are here

Smashed (Paperback)

Smashed Cover Image
$10.99
In Stock, Click Title for Location
The Toadstool Bookshop Peterborough
1 on hand, as of Nov 21 9:15pm

Description


A field hockey star grapples with addiction in this riveting read perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson's Speak.

Katie Martin wants to leave her small-town loneliness behind forever. She is a field hockey star on the fast track to a college scholarship, but her relationship with alcohol has always been a little questionable. Then trouble finds her. Alec is the most popular guy in school, and also the biggest bully--with his sights set firmly on Katie. When Alec turns on the charm, Katie thinks she must have been wrong about him.

Except that she wasn't. On a rain-soaked, alcohol-drenched night, one impulsive decision leaves Katie indebted to Alec in the worst possible way. This fast-paced and compelling story is a "thoughtful and complex portrait of addiction, accountability, and the debilitating impact of low self-esteem" (Publishers Weekly).

Praise For…


“[A] powerful debut. Gripping and relatable, Luedeke's story portrays Katie's conflicted psychological state as she attempts to reconcile her guilt with her slow awareness that she deserves to feel safe. A thoughtful and complex portrait of addiction, accountability, and the debilitating impact of low self-esteem.”

"The compelling pace and relatable characters make this novel a solid recommendation for readers who enjoy Ellen Hopkins and Gail Giles."

"Readers of Laurie Halse Anderson’s Speak (1999) will be drawn in by this similarly powerful tale of overcoming trauma and finding inner strength."

Product Details
ISBN: 9781442427808
ISBN-10: 1442427809
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
Publication Date: August 20th, 2013
Pages: 323
Language: English

Sign up for our emails

Enter your email address   here   to sign up for our occasional emails and you will automatically receive a 20% off coupon you can use on your next visit to one of our stores.